My PC on fire!

Well almost; I upgrade my computer that I use for openembedded [1] builds with a
quad core processor, once I remove the old processor and put back everything in
place I turn on the computer and star a build from scratch to generate an
x11-sato-image [2], when I saw that the build process start I left to take dinner with
my parents and come back like two hours later, to my surprise a burning smell in
my room! so I brutally turn off my computer.

Once my computer cold down a little I open the case and everything look OK,
no wires around the CPU fan no apparent damage in the motherboard, so the
problem must be on the power supply, um strange my first tough is a brand
know power supply and it provides more that enough watts necessary to
power-up all my system, please don’t be the power supply (they are expensive
in Mexico) its out of warranty, it has more than 4 years, oh well let’s open it and
find out if I can fix it; And I did the fix was simple the fan got damage so I replace
it reassemble and plug everything back turn on and restart the build processes.

Power supply fix

This problem got me thinking that the high price on technology products are and
obstacle in order to generate our own innovations, I do spend a lot of money on
computers and gadgets which I pay the best case scenario like 20% over of their
price in a first world class country in some cases the deferential is up to the 100%.

Leave a Reply

